National Ag Day and World Poetry Day

Today two of my favorite things are being celebrated so I could hardly miss an opportunity to celebrate them myself.

March 21, 2017 is National Ag Day. As I unpack my suitcase from spring break I have to stop and give a shout to all the amazing farmers in the U.S. and worldwide that work so hard to supply all my needs. My clothes, my food, my home and furniture, and so much more. In the recent years agriculture has become such a huge part of my world as I work toward my degree, and it will continue to play a big role in my time at Ferncliff and in my career. So I can not say a big enough thank you to all the farmers, present, past, and future, that work hard doing the work that many others wouldn’t, you truly make the world go round.

March 21st is also World Poetry Day. I have to say, this wasn’t always a favorite. Had you asked me my opinion of it in Mr. Matkins senior IB English class right before our poetry oral exam I would have had quite a different view. But how I have come to cherish it. I know first hand that poetry is an acquired taste, but whether or not it is something you cherish I hope you are able to recognize the amazing talent of those who write it.  My sister is what I would consider a true poetry connoisseur. She sent me this gem and I hope you find it as relatable as I did.

Thirst
Mary Oliver

Another morning and I wake with thirst
for the goodness I do not have. I walk
out to the pond and all the way God has
given us such beautiful lessons. Oh Lord,
I was never a quick scholar but sulked
and hunched over my books past the
hour and the bell; grant me, in your
mercy, a little more time. Love for the
earth and love for you are having such a
long conversation in my heart. Who
knows what will finally happen or
where I will be sent, yet already I have
given a great many things away, expect-
ing to be told to pack nothing, except the
prayers which, with this thirst, I am
slowly learning.

Thanks be to God that we are continuously granted a little more time.

Leave a Reply

